World Library  
Flag as Inappropriate
Email this Article

Ovo-lacto vegetarianism

Article Id: WHEBN0000022827
Reproduction Date:

Title: Ovo-lacto vegetarianism  
Author: World Heritage Encyclopedia
Language: English
Subject: Vegetarianism, Veganism, William Cowherd, Bible Christian Church (vegetarian), Bird's Custard
Collection: Vegetarianism
Publisher: World Heritage Encyclopedia

Ovo-lacto vegetarianism

An ovo-lacto vegetarian (or lacto-ovo vegetarian) is a vegetarian who does not eat animal flesh of any kind, but consumes dairy and egg products.


  • Etymology 1
  • Diet 2
  • Religion 3
  • References 4
  • See also 5


The terminology stems from the Latin lac meaning "milk" (as in 'lactation'), ovum meaning "egg", and the English term vegetarian (see Etymology of vegetarianism for the etymology of "vegetarian"), so as giving the definition of a vegetarian diet containing milk and eggs.


In the Western World, ovo-lacto vegetarians are the most common type of vegetarian.[1] Generally speaking, when one uses the term vegetarian a ovo-lacto vegetarian is assumed.[2] Ovo-lacto vegetarians are often well-catered to in restaurants and shops, especially in some parts of Europe and metropolitan cities in North America.


In Jainism all individuals eat only food materials derived from plant sources. Jainism prohibits causing harm to any animal, even eggs, as hurting a living being is against the values of Jainism.

In Hinduism many individuals are either raised as ovo-lacto vegetarians or lacto vegetarians. The cow is considered sacred in Hinduism.

The Bible Christian Church was a Christian vegetarian sect founded by William Cowherd in 1809.[3] Cowherd was one of the philosophical forerunners of the Vegetarian Society founded in 1847. The Bible Christian Church promoted the use of eggs, dairy and honey as God’s given food per "the promised land flowing with milk and honey" (Exodus 3:8).[4]

Many Seventh-day Adventist followers are lacto-ovo vegetarians. For over 130 years, Seventh-day Adventists have recommended a vegetarian diet which may include milk products and eggs.[5]


  1. ^ "Top 7 Types of Vegetarians". 
  2. ^ "Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo vegetarian)". 
  3. ^ Julia Twigg (1981). "The Bible Christian Church". International Vegetarian Union. 
  4. ^ John Davis. "A History of Veganism from 1806". International Vegetarian Union. 
  5. ^ 'A Position Statement on The Vegetarian Diet Adapted from the General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists Nutrition Council''"'". SDADA. Retrieved 2011-10-03. 

See also

This article was sourced from Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License; additional terms may apply. World Heritage Encyclopedia content is assembled from numerous content providers, Open Access Publishing, and in compliance with The Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act (FASTR), Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., Public Library of Science, The Encyclopedia of Life, Open Book Publishers (OBP), PubMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and, which sources content from all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government publication portals (.gov, .mil, .edu). Funding for and content contributors is made possible from the U.S. Congress, E-Government Act of 2002.
Crowd sourced content that is contributed to World Heritage Encyclopedia is peer reviewed and edited by our editorial staff to ensure quality scholarly research articles.
By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. World Heritage Encyclopedia™ is a registered trademark of the World Public Library Association, a non-profit organization.

Copyright © World Library Foundation. All rights reserved. eBooks from Hawaii eBook Library are sponsored by the World Library Foundation,
a 501c(4) Member's Support Non-Profit Organization, and is NOT affiliated with any governmental agency or department.