World Library  
Flag as Inappropriate
Email this Article

Ovo vegetarianism

Article Id: WHEBN0003388246
Reproduction Date:

Title: Ovo vegetarianism  
Author: World Heritage Encyclopedia
Language: English
Subject: Vegetarianism, Lacto vegetarianism, Baconnaise, Heather Nicholson, International Vegetarian Union
Collection: Eggs (Food), Eggs in Culture, Vegetarianism
Publisher: World Heritage Encyclopedia

Ovo vegetarianism

Ovo vegetarianism is a type of vegetarianism which allows for the consumption of eggs but not dairy products, in contrast with lacto vegetarianism. Those who practice ovo vegetarianism are called ovo-vegetarians or "eggetarians". "Ovo" comes from the Latin word for egg.


  • Motivations 1
  • Concerns 2
  • See also 3
  • References 4


Ethical motivations for excluding dairy products are based on issues with the industrial practices behind the production of milk. Concerns include the practice of keeping a cow constantly pregnant in order for her to lactate and the slaughter of unwanted male calves. Other concerns include the standard practice of separating the mother from her calf and denying the calf its natural source of milk.[1] This contrasts with the industrial practices surrounding egg-laying hens, which produce eggs for human consumption without being fertilized. Ovo-vegetarians often prefer free-range eggs, that is, those produced by uncaged hens.[2] Many ovo-vegetarians refuse to eat fertilized eggs, with balut being an extreme example where the egg has developed.

Some vegetarians are lactose intolerant, and are unable to consume milk or other dairy products.

Carbon emissions associated with keeping hens are less than those associated with cattle, a factor significant to those practicing environmental vegetarianism.


Ethical concerns about the consumption of eggs arise from the practice of culling male chicks shortly after birth.[2][3] Practices considered humane for chick culling include maceration and suffocation using carbon dioxide.[2][4]

One of the main differences between a vegan and an ovo-vegetarian diet is the avoidance of eggs. Ethical vegans do not consume eggs because of chick culling.[5] In battery cage egg production, unwanted male chicks are culled or discarded at birth during the process of securing a further generation of egg-laying hens.[6]

See also


  1. ^ The Dairy Cow from the website of the Vegan Society
  2. ^ a b c Hens & Eggs from the website of the Vegan Society
  3. ^ Day 20: Hard Boiled, Deviled & Devastated, a January 26, 2008 blog post from a Loma Linda University Adventist Health Sciences Center blog
  4. ^ "Maceration" ( 
  5. ^ Erik Marcus (2000). Vegan: The New Ethics of Eating. 
  6. ^ Vegetarian Society. "Egg Production & Welfare". 

This article was sourced from Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License; additional terms may apply. World Heritage Encyclopedia content is assembled from numerous content providers, Open Access Publishing, and in compliance with The Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act (FASTR), Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., Public Library of Science, The Encyclopedia of Life, Open Book Publishers (OBP), PubMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and, which sources content from all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government publication portals (.gov, .mil, .edu). Funding for and content contributors is made possible from the U.S. Congress, E-Government Act of 2002.
Crowd sourced content that is contributed to World Heritage Encyclopedia is peer reviewed and edited by our editorial staff to ensure quality scholarly research articles.
By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. World Heritage Encyclopedia™ is a registered trademark of the World Public Library Association, a non-profit organization.

Copyright © World Library Foundation. All rights reserved. eBooks from Hawaii eBook Library are sponsored by the World Library Foundation,
a 501c(4) Member's Support Non-Profit Organization, and is NOT affiliated with any governmental agency or department.