World Library  
Flag as Inappropriate
Email this Article

Vegetarianism and wine

Article Id: WHEBN0003276784
Reproduction Date:

Title: Vegetarianism and wine  
Author: World Heritage Encyclopedia
Language: English
Subject: Vegetarianism, Vegetarianism and beer, Vegan beer, Vegan Prisoners Support Group, American Vegetarian Party
Collection: Vegetarianism, Vegetarianism and Drinks
Publisher: World Heritage Encyclopedia

Vegetarianism and wine

A glass of Red wine

Wine is sometimes finished with


  • Non-vegetarian/vegan additives 1
  • See also 2
  • References 3
  • Further reading 4
  • External links 5

Non-vegetarian/vegan additives

Wineries might use animal-derived products as organic particles which are in suspension during the making of the wine, a fining agent is added to the top of the vat. As it sinks down, the particles adhere to the agent, and are carried out of suspension. None of the fining agent remains in the finished product sold in the bottle, and not all wines are fined.

Examples of animal products used as finings are gelatin, isinglass, chitosan, casein and egg albumen. Bull's blood is also used in some Mediterranean countries but is not allowed in the U.S. or Europe. Kosher wines use isinglass derived from fish bladders, though not from the sturgeon, since the kosher status of this fish is in debate .

Of these, casein and albumen (deriving from milk protein and egg white respectively) may be considered acceptable for lacto and ovo vegetarians respectively, but not for vegans.

As an alternative to animal products, bentonite, a clay mineral, can be used to clarify the wine. Some vintners also let the wine's sediments settle naturally, a time-consuming process. In Australia, winemakers are required to list the use of potential allergens such as casein and albumin on the label but are not obliged to list the use of other non-vegan fining agents such as gelatin or isinglass.[1] Some wine makers will boast on the wine label that their wine is unfiltered, because some wine connoisseurs prefer wine to be unfiltered.

For grape wines, the juice may often be contaminated with a variety of entrained, liquefied insects, arachnids and other animals.[2] Generally, as vegans seek to minimize exploitation wherever feasible, as long as no animal-derived fining agents are used, it would be considered suitable, although interpretations may vary.

See also


  1. ^
  2. ^

Further reading

  • John Platter South African Wine Guide

External links

  • Vegan Wine Guide
  • Vegan & Vegetarian Wine & Beer Guide
  • – Vegan Alcohol Directory
  • [2]
This article was sourced from Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License; additional terms may apply. World Heritage Encyclopedia content is assembled from numerous content providers, Open Access Publishing, and in compliance with The Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act (FASTR), Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., Public Library of Science, The Encyclopedia of Life, Open Book Publishers (OBP), PubMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and, which sources content from all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government publication portals (.gov, .mil, .edu). Funding for and content contributors is made possible from the U.S. Congress, E-Government Act of 2002.
Crowd sourced content that is contributed to World Heritage Encyclopedia is peer reviewed and edited by our editorial staff to ensure quality scholarly research articles.
By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. World Heritage Encyclopedia™ is a registered trademark of the World Public Library Association, a non-profit organization.

Copyright © World Library Foundation. All rights reserved. eBooks from Hawaii eBook Library are sponsored by the World Library Foundation,
a 501c(4) Member's Support Non-Profit Organization, and is NOT affiliated with any governmental agency or department.