World Library  
Flag as Inappropriate
Email this Article

Lacto vegetarianism

Article Id: WHEBN0000495729
Reproduction Date:

Title: Lacto vegetarianism  
Author: World Heritage Encyclopedia
Language: English
Subject: Vegetarianism, Ovo-lacto vegetarianism, Ovo vegetarianism, Vegetarian cuisine, List of diets
Collection: Animal Rights, Diets, Ethical Theories, Intentional Living, Vegetarianism
Publisher: World Heritage Encyclopedia

Lacto vegetarianism

A lacto vegetarian (sometimes referred to as a lactarian; from the Latin root lact-, milk) diet is a vegetarian diet that includes dairy products such as milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, ghee, cream, and kefir, but excludes eggs. The concept and practice of lacto-vegetarianism among a significant number of people comes from ancient India.[1]


  • Religion 1
  • Lacto-vegetarians and vegans 2
  • See also 3
  • References 4
  • External links 5


Lacto-vegetarian diet are popular with many followers of the Eastern religious traditions such as Hinduism, Jainism , Buddhism and Sikhism. The cores of their beliefs behind a lacto-vegetarian diet is the law of ahimsa, or non-violence.[2] According to the Vedas, (Hindu holy scriptures), all living beings are equally valued.[3][4] Also, Hindus believe that one's personality is affected by the kind of food one consumes, and eating flesh is considered bad for one's spiritual/mental well-being. It takes many more vegetables or plants to produce an equal amount of meat,[5] many more lives are destroyed, and in this way more suffering is caused when meat is consumed.[6] In the case of Jainism, the vegetarian standards are even more strict. It allows the consumption of only fruit and leaves that can be taken from plants without causing their death. This further excludes from the diet vegetables like carrots, potatoes, onions and garlic. Although some suffering and pain is inevitably caused to other living beings to satisfy the human need for food, according to ahimsa, every effort should be made to minimize suffering.[6] This is to avoid karmic consequences and show respect for living things. In this sense, wastage of food is considered a sin. Because all living beings are equally valued in these traditions,[4] a vegetarian diet rooted in ahimsa is only one aspect of environmentally conscious living, relating to those beings affected by our need for food.[6] Environmentalism and vegetarianism are often practiced together.[7][8]

Lacto-vegetarians and vegans

One of the main differences between a vegan and a lacto vegetarian diet is the avoidance of dairy products. Ethical vegans do not consume dairy because they state that their production causes the animal suffering and/or a premature death.[9]

See also


  1. ^ Spencer, Colin: The Heretic’s Feast. A History of Vegetarianism, London: Fourth Estate 1993, p. 69–84. ISBN 1-85702-078-2.
  2. ^ Religious Vegetarianism, ed. Kerry S. Walters and Lisa Portmess, Albany 2001, p. 50-52.
  3. ^ Bhagavad Gita 5.18 "The humble sages, by virtue of true knowledge, see with equal vision a learned and gentle brahmana, a cow, an elephant, a dog and a dog-eater [outcaste]."
  4. ^ a b "Animals in Hinduism, second paragraph". Retrieved 2014-03-14. 
  5. ^ "U.S. could feed 800 million people with grain that livestock eat". 1997-08-07. Retrieved 2014-03-14. 
  6. ^ a b c Gabriel Cousens, Spiritual Nutrition: Six Foundations for Spiritual Life and the Awakening of Kundalini, North Athlantic Books, page 251
  7. ^ Tue, Mar 24, 2009 at 05:37 PM (2009-03-24). "Many environmentalists are vegetarian". Retrieved 2014-03-14. 
  8. ^ Mia MacDonald (1969-12-31). "Maneka Gandhi and Ahimsa". Retrieved 2014-03-14. 
  9. ^ Erik Marcus (2000). Vegan: The New Ethics of Eating. 

External links

  • Nutrition Information
  • The Vegetarian Resource Group
  • Vegetarian Pages
  • 20 Questions About Vegetarianism
  • International Vegetarian Union
  • Online community for Vegetarians
  • Lacto-vegetarian menu items and products
This article was sourced from Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License; additional terms may apply. World Heritage Encyclopedia content is assembled from numerous content providers, Open Access Publishing, and in compliance with The Fair Access to Science and Technology Research Act (FASTR), Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., Public Library of Science, The Encyclopedia of Life, Open Book Publishers (OBP), PubMed, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and, which sources content from all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government publication portals (.gov, .mil, .edu). Funding for and content contributors is made possible from the U.S. Congress, E-Government Act of 2002.
Crowd sourced content that is contributed to World Heritage Encyclopedia is peer reviewed and edited by our editorial staff to ensure quality scholarly research articles.
By using this site, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. World Heritage Encyclopedia™ is a registered trademark of the World Public Library Association, a non-profit organization.

Copyright © World Library Foundation. All rights reserved. eBooks from Hawaii eBook Library are sponsored by the World Library Foundation,
a 501c(4) Member's Support Non-Profit Organization, and is NOT affiliated with any governmental agency or department.